Clear Sky
Current Memphis Weather
MLGW Home Page
Connect with us on Twitter Connect with us on Facebook Read our most recent blog Watch us on YouTube Connect with us on Instagram
Back to Home Page
News... / 
MLGW News Release
MLGW Honored With National Award For Reliable Electric Operations: Awarded for the fourth time in eight years
May 22, 2013

For the fourth time in eight years, Memphis Light, Gas and Water has earned the American Public Power Association's (APPA) Reliable Public Power Provider (RP3 ®) recognition for providing consumers with the highest degree of reliable and safe electric service.
This year, 90 of the nation’s more than 2,000 public power utilities earned recognition. The RP3 recognizes public power utilities that demonstrate proficiency in four key disciplines: reliability, safety, workforce development and system improvement. Criteria within each category are based on sound business practices and represent a utility-wide commitment to safe and reliable delivery of electricity. A utility can qualify for the award once every two years.
MLGW received a platinum designation, the second highest award; diamond is the highest. MLGW earned platinum in 2007, 2009 and 2011.
“I am proud of our employees’ commitment to providing safe, reliable, and cost effective electric services to our customers in the greater Memphis and Shelby County area,” stated Jerry Collins Jr., President and CEO.
Brent McKinney, manager, electric transmission and distribution at City Utilities of Springfield, Mo., and chair of APPA’s RP3 Review Panel, presented the designees on March 25 during the association’s annual Engineering & Operations Technical Conference, held in Kissimmee, Fla.

“RP3 utilities are shining examples of reliable and forward-thinking public power utilities,” said McKinney, “These 90 designees should be extremely proud of this accomplishment and what it means for their communities.”
This is the eighth year that the RP3 designation has been offered. The 90 honored utilities join another 94 utilities that earned the designation in 2012. More information and a full list of the 90 designees-recognized in three categories-is available at